Saturday, May 11, 2013

Celiac Awareness Month fun fact #11

Potatoes don't contain gluten, so are French fries gluten free?

Potatoes in their pure form are gluten free, but most restaurants that make them use a fryer and oil that they also fry breaded items, like chicken and fish. That means some serious cross contamination! Some more progressive restaurants have dedicated fryers for French fries. Most Red Robin & Burgerville restaurants have dedicated oil for fries. Don't just assume though, make sure you ask.

Also, some brands of frozen French fries, sweet potato fries, hash browns and tater tots have wheat flour added to them. Always check the label. Even if you find a brand you deem as GF, check the label every time. Manufacturer ingredients change all the time.

No comments:

Post a Comment